Tuesday, September 1, 2026HotTea archive editionVerified 7:38 AM PDT

The lead

AI backers are putting money behind data-center fights

Build American AI plans a multimillion-dollar data-center campaign in Kansas, Ohio, and Wisconsin. The group says it is affiliated with the pro-AI super PAC Leading the Future.

Listen to this edition

Prefer audio? The briefing has chapters and a full transcript.

The briefing

The rest of the morning

4 more stories

02

The Pentagon launched ChatGPT Mil and Grok for Government

The Pentagon launched ChatGPT Mil and Starshield AI's Grok for Government on GenAI.mil on August 31. TechCrunch reported that both tools join Google's Gemini in the secure portal. The department said Grok has Impact Level 5 approval for controlled unclassified information. The department also said GenAI.mil has more than 1.7 million unique users across a workforce of more than 3 million people. OpenAI says data processed through its government deployment stays inside the government environment and does not train its public models.

The Pentagon's claims about faster work and better missions are official claims. Public releases do not show independent security tests, refusal logs, incident records, or model-level audit results. Impact Level 5 approval does not establish safe use on classified networks or in weapons. The launch also makes Anthropic's absence from the portal harder to ignore.

TechCrunch ↗U.S. Department of War ↗OpenAI ↗
Read article →
03

HUMAIN says its AMD and Cisco compute is live

AMD, Cisco, and Saudi state-backed HUMAIN said their AI system is now serving customers. It uses AMD Instinct MI355X GPUs, AMD EPYC CPUs, and Cisco networking. HUMAIN will offer the system as a GPU service for model training and inference. The companies plan to start a second phase of up to 250 megawatts in 2027. Their joint venture still targets up to one gigawatt by 2030.

This is a company claim in two versions of the same joint announcement. The companies did not disclose live megawatt capacity, GPU count, customer names, utilization, service prices, or measured performance. The 250-megawatt and one-gigawatt figures are plans, not operating capacity.

AMD ↗Cisco ↗
Read article →
04

SLB agreed to buy data-center cooling company Kelvion for $4.1 billion

SLB agreed to acquire Kelvion for about $3.4 billion in cash and assume about $700 million of debt. Reuters reported a total value of $4.1 billion including debt. Kelvion makes thermal-management and heat-exchange equipment. SLB expects the deal to close in the first half of 2027 after customary approvals.

The transaction has not closed. SLB's revenue, margin, and synergy figures are company projections. The purchase adds cooling equipment to SLB's modular data-center work. SLB still has to integrate Kelvion and win orders at the prices behind the deal.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission ↗Reuters ↗
Read article →
05

Europe signed a €387.8 million contract for LUMI-AI

The European High Performance Computing Joint Undertaking signed a €387.8 million contract with Bull to deliver LUMI-AI in Kajaani, Finland. The EU will fund half, and the six-country LUMI AI Factory group will fund the rest. AMD says the system will use Instinct MI430X GPUs and 256-core sixth-generation EPYC CPUs. Deployment is scheduled for the second half of 2027. The system is meant for research, startups, industry, AI training, inference, and scientific simulation.

The contract is real, but no one has measured the performance yet. EuroHPC and AMD expect ten times the AI capacity and almost twice the high-performance computing capacity of the current LUMI system. They have not published the GPU count, power draw, benchmark method, or delivered performance. Installation is still more than a year away.

European High Performance Computing Joint Undertaking ↗AMD ↗
Read article →

The watchlist

Signals that could change the read

WatchlistPublic ad buys and utility decisions in Kansas, Ohio, and Wisconsin.Tracking
WatchlistPentagon audit records and model-specific controls for GenAI.mil.Tracking
WatchlistNamed customers and measured live capacity for HUMAIN's Saudi service.Tracking
WatchlistKelvion regulatory approval and LUMI-AI acceptance tests.Tracking
Across the desks AI expansion now runs through voters, military controls, power systems, cooling equipment, and public compute. The hard test is whether the spending creates working capacity without hiding public costs or oversight.

4 sourced signals frame today’s briefing.

PoliticsBuild American AI plans ads in Kansas, Ohio, and WisconsinThe group announced a multimillion-dollar push, but spending records and voter effects are not yet public.
DefenseThe Pentagon added ChatGPT Mil and Grok to GenAI.milThe tools can handle controlled unclassified information. That does not prove they are safe for classified work or weapons use.
InfrastructureHUMAIN says Saudi compute is live on AMD and Cisco systemsThe companies did not disclose live capacity, customer names, or utilization.
MarketsSLB agreed to pay $4.1 billion including debt for KelvionThe deal still needs approvals, and the growth targets remain company projections.

Editorial direction, not a financial index. Each signal is tied to this edition’s reporting.

Edition validated · 5 stories · 11 unique sources

About HotTea & our sources →